Tourist Development Council

Tourist Development Council

Authority:  FS 125.0104(4)(e) and Ordinance 16-13

Purpose:  To make recommendations to the Board of County Commissioners for the effective operation of the uses of the tourist development tax revenue raised by the tax hereby levied and may perform such other duties or functions as hereinafter may be prescribed by ordinance or resolution.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      

Membership:  A total of nine (9) members confirmed by the Board of County Commissioners to consist of:       

  • Chairman of the Board or any other member of the Board as designated by the Chair.

  • Two (2) members shall be elected municipal officials, at least one of whom shall be from the most populous municipality in the sub-county taxing district, appointed by their respective governing bodies.

  • Six (6) members shall be persons who are involved in the tourist industry and who have demonstrated an interest in tourist development, of which members, not less than three (3) nor more than four (4) shall be owners or operators of motels, hotels, recreational vehicle parks, or other tourist accommodations in the County and subject to the tax.

  • All members shall be electors of Okaloosa County.

  • Term:  4 years

Meetings: 4th Tuesday of each month.

Department Liaison: Department of Tourist Development (850) 651-7131