Okaloosa County Commission on the Status of Women

Okaloosa County Commission on the Status of Women                                                                 


Authority:  Resolution 18-55 amending Resolution 95-09.

Purpose:  To represent the particular interests and concerns of all the women of Okaloosa County and to assist in bringing forth the social, economic and public environment in which women can realize their fullest potential and make their maximum contribution to Okaloosa County.


Members: Consists of fifteen (15) members.  Each Commissioner of Okaloosa County shall appoint two (2) members.  One that resides within his or her district and one that resides at-large within Okaloosa County.  The remaining five members of the OCCSW, shall consist of a member from each of the following women’s service organizations located within Okaloosa County:

  • American Business Women’s Association, Emerald Coast Chapter

  • Republican Women of Okaloosa Federated

  • Democratic Women’s Club of Okaloosa County

  • League of Women’s Voters-Okaloosa County

  • Junior League of the Emerald Coast

Each organization shall recommend the name of representative from their organization to the Board of County Commissioners as a member of the OCCSW.  The Board shall consider the recommendation and make the final determination as to the membership.

Term:  4 years; with each Commissioner’s appointments running concurrently with his or her four-year term of office.

Meetings:  As needed and will be publicly noticed. Click here to view the 2023 meeting schedule

Contact InformationTheOCSW@gmail.com



P.O. Box 1323

Ft. Walton Beach, FL  32549

Florida Commission on the Status of Women


National Association Commission on the Status of Women