Okaloosa Gas District Board

Okaloosa Gas District Board


Authority:  House Bill 1637; Chapter 2000-443, reestablished and re-created the Okaloosa Gas District as an independent special district. As such the Okaloosa Gas District is separate and independent from the Board of County Commissioners, although one member of the Okaloosa Gas District Board is selected by the Board of County Commissioners.

Purpose:  The public and governmental purposes of the District are to acquire by purchase or construction, one or both, and to own, finance, operate, maintain, extend, and improve one or more gas systems.

Members: Board of Directors consists of a member for each municipality and (one) 1 member appointed by the Board of County Commissioners to represent the interests of unincorporated areas and the interest of non-member cities.  The member of each municipality shall be appointed by the governing body of such member municipality and the Board of County Commissioners Board of County Commissioners shall appoint one (1) member (cannot be a Commissioner).  Criteria for  Board of County Commissioners appointment is a minimum of 3 years residency in an unincorporated area and a consumer of Okaloosa Gas.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  

Term:  4 years

Meetings:  Fourth Wednesday of the month


Contact Information:

Okaloosa Gas District

20 Hughes St. NE

Fort Walton Beach, FL  32548

(580) 729-4700