Okaloosa County Aviation Board

Okaloosa County Aviation Board


Authority:  Resolution 17-93, established May 2, 2017.

Purpose:  To advise and provide recommendations to the Okaloosa County Board of Commissioners relative to the operation, growth and promotion of the Okaloosa County Airport System (Destin-Fort Walton Beach Airport (VPS), Bob Sikes Airport (CEW), and Destin Executive Airport (DTS).  The scope of responsibilities of the OCAB shall be broadly continued and shall include but not be limited to the providing of recommendations to the Director of the Department of Airports concerning operational issues and the coordination of the respective activities and functions of the County Airport System with those of the United States Air Force.  A significant responsibility of the OCAB shall be to identify and provide economic development initiatives at the County Airports and to coordinate those efforts with the Economic Development Council and other appropriate entities.

Members:    The OCAB shall be comprised of a total of eight (8) members consisting of seven (7) members initially appointed by the Board of County Commissioners.  The eighth member shall be a County Commissioner.  In appointing members to the OCAB, the Board of County Commissioners will seek individuals with special expertise and experience in the unique functions of the County Airports and the coordination of these functions with the military of the United States Air Force.  All appointed members will be confirmed by the Board of County Commissioners.                                                                                                                                                           

Term:   4 years

Meetings:   All meeting will be held the second Monday of every other month at the Destin-Fort Walton Beach Airport unless otherwise advertised.

Department Liaison:  Okaloosa County Airports- (850) 651-7160