Meet Your Commissioner

District 3 - Commissioner Nathan Boyles



Commissioner Nathan Boyles grew up in North Okaloosa County. He received a Bachelor’s Degree in Civil Engineering with an emphasis in environmental engineering from Florida State University. After his graduation, he earned his Law Degree from FSU College of Law.

Nathan and his wife Crystal have two children: son Beau and daughter Quinn. They call Holt, in the center of District Three, home. Nathan and Crystal believe small business is the backbone of our economy and it helps to form the foundation of our community. They proudly own and operate several local businesses which support local jobs and empower the local community.

First elected in 2012, Nathan previously served as Chair and Vice-Chair of the County Commission and has served or does serve on a number of boards for governmental, business and civic organizations. These organizations include the Okaloosa Library Cooperative, Northwest Florida Regional Planning Council, Crestview Rotary Club, Crestview Area Chamber of Commerce, Main Street Crestview Association, Crestview Historical Preservation Board, Northwest Florida Regional Transportation Organization, CCB Community Bank Florida Advisory Board and Crestview Community Redevelopment Agency Board.

Nathan, in his role as Chairman of the Transportation Planning Organization, worked to prioritize funding for critical transportation infrastructure projects for Okaloosa County, including expanding State Road 85 to six lanes, constructing the Crestview by-pass, creating an additional Interstate interchange on I-10, and implementing the “around the mound” solution in downtown Fort Walton Beach and the Destin cross-town connector

Commissioner Boyles is the liaison officer for the following committees:

  • Property Appraiser                                                                       
  • Library Cooperative
  • Public Works
  • Northwest Florida Transportation Planning Organization
  • Okaloosa Walton Transportation Planning Organization
  • Walton/Okaloosa/Santa Rosa Regional Utility Authority (RUA)
  • City of Crestview Community Redevelopment Agency (CRA)
  • One Okaloosa Economic Development Council (EDC)
  • Mid-Bay Bridge Authority
  • Okaloosa Transit Cooperative
  • Canvassing Board
  • Transportation Disadvantaged Coordinating Board