FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Board of County Commissioners December 20, 2024



Commissioner Carolyn Ketchel Awarded Prestigious Mike Mitchell Award

Okaloosa County, Florida –Okaloosa County Commissioner Carolyn Ketchel was recently awarded the coveted Mike Mitchell Award for a second time by the Okaloosa County Republican Club. She remains the only woman to have been recognized with this distinction.

"I am deeply humbled to have received this honor again," said Okaloosa County Vice Chairman Carolyn Ketchel. "Mike Mitchell did so much for Okaloosa County in the years he served this community, and I am thankful to the Okaloosa County Republican Club for this incredible recognition."

During the ceremony, Commissioner Ketchel was recognized for her devotion and hard work as a County Commissioner. Notable efforts over the years include the bridge-to-bridge multi-use path on Okaloosa Island, the construction of a new agriculture extension services building adjacent to the Fairgrounds, the creation of the Women Veterans Monuments adjacent to the Destin-Fort Walton Beach Convention Center and establishment of the ecumenical Lazarus Ceremony, which inters the unclaimed individuals at Beal Memorial Cemetery who have passed away in Okaloosa County each year.

The award is named after Mike Mitchell who was the longest-serving Okaloosa County Republican Commissioner. He was also the first Republican Commissioner, elected in 1976 and serving 16 years on the Commission. Many knew him as "Mr. Republican," and was well-respected for never having a partisan argument with his Democrat counterparts and known for making the job as an elected official fun.

Commissioner Ketchel was first recognized with the prestigious award in 2018, accepting the trophy in person from Mitchell. He passed away in 2020 at the age of 91.

Commissioner Ketchel is one of only three people to receive the Mike Mitchell Award twice. Current Supervisor of Elections Paul Lux and current School Board Chairman Lamar White also received the award two times. Other recipients of the Mike Mitchell Award include, State Representative T. Patt Maney, Okaloosa Tax Collector Ben Anderson and Crestview Mayor J.B. Whitten.

Photo caption: Vice Chairman Carolyn Ketchel, second from right, poses with the Mike Mitchell award along with past Mike Mitchell Award recipients State Representative T. Patt Maney, left, Okaloosa Tax Collector Ben Anderson, middle left, and Crestview Mayor J.B. Whitten.

###

FOR MORE INFORMATION, CONTACT PUBLIC INFORMATION OFFICER NICK TOMECEK AT 850.651.7321

NTOMECEK@MYOKALOOSA.COM